Your Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney request your free consultation

Posted on August 11, 2021 in Sex Crimes

Consequences Of Sex Offender Registry Violations

If you’re convicted of a sex crime in Arizona, you’ll have to register as a sex offender. Sex offender registries exist to ensure government agencies and law enforcement can monitor the movement and activities of sex offenders. Members of the public can also access sex offender registries to determine if they reside near a registered sex offender.

When a person is convicted of a sex crime, they might have to:

  • Register as a sex offender with the state
  • Notify those who live within a certain radius of their residence of their sex offender status
  • Maintain a specific distance from schools and day care centers
  • Abstain from using the internet

Failure to comply with these restrictions can result in additional penalties.

What Happens if a Sex Offender Commits a Registry Violation in Arizona

Knowingly failing to register as a sex offender or update registration is a federal offense in the United States. If someone commits a sex offender registry violation, they may face fines and prison time. If they also commit a violent federal crime, their prison term may be as long as 30 years.

Understanding Sex Offender Registry Requirements in Arizona

To avoid facing major legal penalties, sex offenders must understand the registration process in Arizona.

It involves the following:

  • Registering with the sheriff’s office of the county where one resides. A person’s sex offender registration must be updated within 72 hours of moving to a new residence.
  • Registering as a sex offender in Arizona if visiting the state for more than ten days.
  • Acquiring a special license from the Arizona MVD.

Registering as a sex offender in Arizona involves visiting the county sheriff’s office and filling out a form in person.

Failing to register as a sex offender or update registration isn’t the only way a sex offender can get into additional trouble with the law. Often, sex offenders are not permitted to engage in interstate travel or international travel, at least for a period of time. Knowingly violating these prohibitions can result in prosecution.

A convicted sex offender may need to register in Arizona even if they don’t live in the state in cases where:

  • Their employment will involve them spending 30 days or more in Arizona in a calendar year. These days do not need to be consecutive.
  • Being enrolled in a school in Arizona for 14 or more consecutive days.
  • Being enrolled in a school in Arizona for 30 or more non-consecutive days in a calendar year.

There are some instances when a sex offender may not need to follow registration requirements for life. This typically happens for juvenile convictions. The court may terminate their sex offender registration duties when they reach the age of 25. Alternatively, the court may terminate the requirements upon successful completion of probation.

The requirements for sex offender registration can be confusing. It’s possible to commit a violation accidentally. It’s also possible to be falsely charged with committing a violation. If you’ve been charged with a sex offender registration violation in Arizona, seek representation from a qualified criminal defense attorney. Legal assistance could help you avoid future penalties.

Search Our Site

Our Location

11811 N. Tatum Blvd. STE 3031

Phoenix, Arizona 85028

 

Orent Law Offices Phoenix Criminal Defense Law Firm