Your Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney request your free consultation

Phoenix Multiple DUI Attorney

Phoenix Multiple DUI Attorney

Have you been arrested for a second or subsequent DUI in Phoenix, AZ? The State of Arizona takes drunk driving seriously and imposes harsh penalties for even a first-time DUI. If you have multiple DUI convictions, you face even stiffer penalties, including jail time. You deserve a Phoenix defense lawyer committed to helping you protect your freedom.

Orent Law Offices has represented clients charged with DUI in Maricopa County for more than 33 years. Contact our law office for a free consultation with a Phoenix multiple DUI attorney who can help.

How Orent Law Offices Can Help if You’re Arrested for Multiple DUI in Phoenix

The harsh pMultiple DUIenalties of a DUI conviction only become more serious if it is your second or subsequent DUI arrest. Law enforcement and prosecutors are unforgiving and want to make an example out of suspected drunk driving offenders. You may be facing months in jail, $10,000 fines, and a lengthy license suspension.

You deserve a Phoenix DUI lawyer who can help you fight the charges you are facing. Orent Law Offices is here to protect your rights and give you the best legal defense possible. Founding attorney Craig Orent is a Certified Criminal Law Specialist and a member of the Top 100 Trial Lawyers. He has a proven track record defending DUI cases in Phoenix, Arizona.

Choose Orent Law Offices to defend you in your DUI case, and trust us to:

  • Dispute all evidence against you, including field sobriety tests, breath tests, and officer testimony
  • Work with experts in many fields to weaken the prosecution’s case against you
  • Investigate whether your rights were violated during your arrest
  • Fight for a dismissal or reduction of your charge or a satisfactory plea deal
  • If convicted, present a persuasive case for the minimum penalties allowed

Do not simply give up and accept the harsh consequences of a multiple DUI conviction without a fight. Call Orent Law Offices today for a free consultation with a Phoenix DUI defense lawyer who will fight for you.

Overview of DUI & Multiple DUI in Arizona

ARS §28-1381 makes driving under the influence a crime in Arizona. However, Arizona has several DUI laws and many ways of charging a DUI.

A DUI charge can apply if you:

  • Were “impaired to the slightest degree.” This is known as impairment DUI and does not require being at the BAC limit.
  • Had any drug or metabolite in your system. This is called a per se drug DUI.
  • Had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or 0.08% or higher within 120 minutes of driving. This is known as a per se alcohol DUI.
  • Were operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

Your first DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. However, a DUI becomes more serious if you have one or more previous DUI convictions.

Aggravated DUI for Multiple DUI Offenses

If you have multiple DUI convictions, you will likely be charged with aggravated DUI for any subsequent DUI arrest. This comes with additional penalties.

ARS § 28-1383 allows an aggravated DUI charge when any of the following apply:

  • You have two+ prior DUI convictions in the last 7 years in any state.
  • Your license is suspended for a DUI arrest, conviction, or chemical test refusal.
  • There was a minor under 15 in the car.
  • You have a court-ordered ignition interlock device

Aggravated DUI is usually a Class 4 felony in Phoenix.

What Are the Penalties for Multiple DUI in Phoenix, Arizona?

If you are convicted of aggravated DUI for multiple DUI convictions, you will face harsher punishments than you would for a misdemeanor DUI. With two or more prior DUI convictions, your next DUI will likely be a felony DUI.

Along with higher fines, a longer potential jail sentence, and a longer period with a suspended license, multiple DUIs come with mandatory minimum probation.

You may be facing:

  • Jail time
  • Fines
  • Driver’s license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Probation
  • Alcohol education classes
  • Community service

While a third or subsequent DUI becomes a felony, you also face enhanced penalties for a second DUI, particularly if it is classified as an “extreme” or “super extreme” DUI.

There are two types of penalties for multiple DUIs in Phoenix: administrative penalties from the Motor Vehicle Division and criminal penalties. Both are considered serious as your freedom and ability to drive are at stake.

Both forms of penalties don’t just threaten your freedom; they are also very expensive. Fines for a DUI can easily top $2,000. There are also surcharges, alcohol counseling (around $500), ignition interlock device installation (around $1,000 per year), and car insurance premiums (about $3,000 per year).

A DUI conviction can also result in the loss of a professional license.

Criminal Penalties for Multiple DUI in Arizona

A second DUI in Arizona is still typically a misdemeanor.

You face penalties that may include:

  • Probation for five years
  • Fines of $500 to $2,500 plus surcharges
  • A minimum of 30 to 90 days and up to 6 months in jail
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for at least 1 year
  • 30 hours of community service
  • Alcohol counseling and screening

A second standard DUI requires that you serve at least 90 days in jail and at least 30 days must be consecutive. The jail sentence can be reduced to 30 days if you complete alcohol treatment and screening.

If you are convicted of an aggravated DUI (charged if you have 2+ prior DUIs in 7 years), you face:

  • At least four months in jail
  • Alcohol counseling
  • Installation of an interlock ignition device for two years

With a second aggravated DUI, you face up to 7 years in prison now. A third or subsequent aggravated DUI can be punished with 6 to 15 years in prison.

Administrative Penalties for Multiple DUI in Arizona

You will face immediate administrative penalties from the Motor Vehicle Division after a DUI arrest. While first-time DUI comes with a 90-day administrative suspension, your license will be suspended for 1 year if you are convicted of a second DUI.

An aggravated DUI will result in your license being revoked for 3 years.

After your arrest, you can choose to challenge your license suspension through a hearing. You have 15 days to request an administrative hearing or the suspension will go into effect.

With a prior DUI conviction, you will not be eligible for a restricted license if your license is suspended.

Penalties for Extreme & Super Extreme DUI in Phoenix

Arizona has two DUI classifications that apply when someone has a very high blood alcohol concentration. 0.08 is the legal limit for a DUI in Arizona. An extreme DUI refers to a BAC of 0.15 or higher. A super extreme DUI is charged for a BAC of 0.20 or higher.

Even a first-time extreme or super extreme DUI comes with enhanced penalties. These are even more serious if it is your second or subsequent DUI.

The penalties for an extreme DUI include:

  • 4-6 months for a second or subsequent extreme DUI (30 days to 6 months for a first conviction)
  • Up to 5 years probation
  • A fine of at least $1,500
  • Driver’s license suspended for 1 year (increased from 90 days for a first extreme DUI)
  • Installation of an interlock device

The penalties are harsher for a super extreme DUI. You face:

  • At least 6 months in jail (45 days to 6 months for a first conviction)
  • A fine of at least $3,200
  • Driver’s license suspended for at least one year

It’s important to note that you can face enhanced subsequent extreme or super extreme DUI penalties even if it is just your second DUI. The first DUI does not need to be extreme or super extreme, either.

What Defenses Can Be Raised if I’m Accused of Multiple DUI?

DUI cases come with many possible legal defenses. An experienced DUI lawyer in Phoenix will carefully investigate the circumstances of your arrest and the evidence against you to develop the strongest possible defense strategy. We may suggest:

  • Disputing the accuracy and/or validity of blood or breath test results.
  • Improper administration or assessment of field sobriety tests.
  • Lack of reasonable suspicion to be pulled over.
  • Lack of probable cause for an arrest.
  • You were not in actual physical control of the car.
  • Your constitutional rights were violated. If so, evidence that was obtained can be excluded.

An experienced DUI defense attorney at Orent Law Offices is ready to help you fight your DUI charge with a sound legal defense. We put decades of insight and experience with DUI cases to work for you.

Schedule a Free Case Evaluation with Our Phoenix Multiple DUI Attorney

Even a first DUI can be expensive and life-changing. A second or subsequent DUI can carry even harsher penalties with your freedom, financial security, and driving privileges on the line. Call Orent Law Offices for a free consultation with a Phoenix multiple DUI attorney ready to help you fight your DUI charge and protect your rights.

Related Pages: