Your Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney request your free consultation

Glendale Assault Charge Lawyer

If you are facing assault charges in Arizona, you have every cause for concern. If convicted, you will have a permanent criminal record. Clearly, you need the best legal representation you can find. You need an assault charge attorney in Glendale with years of successful criminal defense experience and the deeply-held commitment to doing everything the law allows to provide you with the best defense the facts of your case allow.

Seek advice from an assault charge attorney if you have been involved in an assault. Simple assault is a misdemeanor, but if there are aggravating circumstances, you could be charged with aggravated assault and would need to hire an aggravated assault lawyer. Some people are surprised to learn that you can be charged with assault, even though you have never actually laid so much as a finger on anyone.

It’s true. Although we think of “assault” as a violent crime, and it sometimes is, it doesn’t have to include any act of physical violence being carried out. Assault is defined as threatening or intimidating someone, either verbally or physically, with an intention to harm that person, or threatening a person in such a way as to create a reasonable fear that a violent attack is imminent. For example, if you are involved in a verbal altercation with someone and assume a fighting stance while declaring you will beat that person to a bloody pulp, even though you never touch the person, you could be found guilty of assault.

Misdemeanor Assault (Simple Assault)

The example given above would typically be a second-degree misdemeanor, which could land you in jail for 60 days, along with a fine of as much as $500.00. We recommend discussing your case with a misdemeanor lawyer to talk about your case, potential punishments, and possibly fend off a felony.

In Arizona, misdemeanor assault charges fall into one of three categories:

  • A Class 3 misdemeanor assault, punishable by up to 30 days in jail, $500.00 in fines, and up to 12 months of probation include touching someone with the intent to injure or provoke that person.
  • A Class 2 misdemeanor assault includes the threat of causing injury to the person. If convicted of a Class 2 misdemeanor assault, you could go to jail for up to four months, pay up to $750 in fines, and be required to serve up to two years of probation.
  • A Class 1 misdemeanor assault charge requires that an actual physical injury occurred. A Class 1 misdemeanor conviction comes with a maximum sentence of six months in jail, a fine of as much as $2500, and up to three years of probation.

Additional penalties may include assessment costs, the cost of an anger management class, court costs, and community service.

Getting the Legal Representation You Need

You may be feeling hopeless or fearful for your future, but being charged with a crime is a long way from being convicted. There are many defenses and many strategies that can improve your prospects when you have a highly experienced and effective lawyer.

Call the law offices of Glendale attorney Craig Orent. Craig has close to 30 years of legal experience and a well-documented record of having charges dismissed and reduced, as well as one for obtaining acquittals for clients at trial. When your freedom and future are at risk, call Craig Orent immediately. Don’t delay in bringing on board one of Arizona’s most effective and trusted criminal defense attorneys. Make the call immediately if you have been questioned or arrested, and don’t speak to police or prosecutors unless Craig is present to safeguard your rights.